Tehran Islamic Studies Monitor (TehranISM)

Hosted by Mohsen Feyzbakhsh

 

Please join here.

 

 

TehranISM is a series of conversations addressing Islamic studies across the world. The aim of conversations is to link "Western" and "non-Western" study of Islam. In particular, it aims at engaging more Iranian scholars and students with the state of the art in global Islamic studies.

Each conversation will focus on one recently published work about Islam. The structure of each conversation consists of: 5 minutes "introduction" by the host; 15 minutes "comments" by the discussant; and 20-30 minutes "response" by the author and the Q&A period.

 

 

September 3, 11 am (EDT), 16 (BST), 19:30 (Iran daylight time)

The Qur'an and the Bible: Text and Commentary.

Author: Gabriel Said Reynolds (University of Notre Dame)

Discussant: Mohsen Goudarzi (University of Minnesota)

 

September 10, 10 am (EDT), 15 (BST), 18:30 (Iran daylight time)

Teaching and learning the sciences in Islamicate societies (800-1700)

Author: Sonja Brentjes (Max Planck Institute for the History of Science, Berlin)

Discussant: Amir Mohammad Gamini (University of Tehran)

 

September 17, 10 am (EDT), 15 (BST), 18:30 (Iran daylight time)

A Monument to Medieval Syrian Book Culture: The Library of Ibn ʿAbd al-Hādī

Author: Konrad Hirschler (Freie Universität Berlin)

Discussants: Sarah Bowen Savant (Aga Khan University)
Ali Tabatabai Yazdi (Mohaqiq Tabatabai Foundation)

 

September 24, 10 am (EDT), 15 (BST), 17:30 (Iran standard time)

Qur'anic Hermeneutics: Between Science, History, and the Bible

Author: Abdulla Galadari (Khalifa University, Abu Dhabi)

Discussant: Kurt Andres Richardson (University of Toronto)

 

October 1, 10 am (EDT), 15 (BST), 17:30 (Iran standard time)

"The Grace of God" as evidence for a written Uthmanic archetype: the importance of shared orthographic idiosyncrasies

Author: Marijn van Putten (Leiden University)

Discussant: Ala Vahidnia (Institute for Humanities and Cultural Studies, Tehran)

 

 

Further inquiries: feyzbakhsh@ut.ac.ir